The spine contains 7 vertebra in the neck, 12 vertebrae in the thorax and 5 vertebra in the lumbar spine, the sacrum and the coccyx.

Intervertebral discs separate the vertebra form one another.

The bony vertebra protect the spinal cord that run in the middle of the vertebral canal. Nerve roots exit the spinal cord at each vertebral level.

The spine is dependent on both its bone structure for its support, but also the numerous ligaments that link the vertebra and the muscles around the spine which help balance the motion in the spine.

The spine is subject to a number of conditions including

  • Fractures
  • Disc proplases
  • Nerve entrapment
  • Osteoarthritis (degenerative disease)
  • Spinal stenosis
  • Infection

At OTL a multidisciplinary approach is essential to the correct diagnosis and management of your spinal problem.